Skip to contentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site SearchSkip to FooterDownload Adobe Reader



Debbie Justeson

Debbie Justeson, Board President

Debbie Justeson, who was elected to the Governing Board in 2010, is the 2022 Board President. She has been an educator for about 35 years and her teaching experience spans from preschool to post-graduate-level courses. She continues to teach full-time as a math teacher at San Diego Virtual School, and as a lecturer for the Department of Teacher Education at San Diego State University. She previously taught math at Grossmont and Cuyamaca colleges and received the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award twice. She has presented at several math conferences nationwide and as an adjunct faculty member, was actively involved in campus committees and teachers' associations. Trustee Justeson believes that education is the best pathway out of poverty; thus, she is devoted to promoting higher education to East County youth and their families. 


Brad Monroe

Brad Monroe, Board Vice President

Brad Monroe, who was elected in 2018, is the 2022 Board Vice President after serving as President in 2021. He has 43 years of experience as a community college educator. He was founding chair of the Ornamental Horticulture program at Cuyamaca College for 32 years, after serving as founding chair of the Southwestern College Ornamental Horticulture program. His focus as a trustee includes providing the students with the highest quality education, maintaining financial stability in the District, improving District operational functions, and working with District staff on the oversight of construction projects in the District.


Elena Adams

Elena Adams, Board Clerk

Elected in 2016, Elena Adams is the 2022 Board Clerk. She was an educator for 38 years at the San Diego Community College District, retiring in 2018 as well as Grossmont Adult School (1983-1998). She received the Unsung Hero Award two times from the San Diego Community College District and, in her work as a PTA president and secretary, was awarded the State of California PTA Service Award. Trustee Adams has been an East County resident for 43 years and her children attended East County public schools, including Grossmont College. She is committed to student success in college transfer and career technical training programs and assisting students in becoming economically self-sufficient.


Linda Cartwright

Linda Cartwright

Elected in 2018, Linda Cartwright has been a public school teacher for over 30 years, serving as a mentor teacher, Beginning Teacher Support and Assessment coach, elected teacher association president and received the California Teachers Association WHO Award. As a career teacher, Trustee Cartwright knows what it takes to support educators and help our students thrive. She has been an East County resident for 29 years and her son attended East County public schools. Trustee Cartwright's major areas of focus include: ensuring community colleges are affordable; increasing college transfer and career training for local jobs; providing needed re-training and continuing education for our veterans; and guaranteeing our tax dollars are spent wisely, with transparency and accountability. 


Julie Schorr

Julie Schorr

Julie Schorr, who was elected in 2020, has been a public school teacher for 29 years. She holds a Master of Arts degree in counseling from San Diego State University and a California administrative credential. She is a department chair at Granite Hills High School and teaches World Language classes, as well as Acellus, a credit-recovery teaching platform. Schorr received the American Association of Teachers of French outstanding teacher award in 2018 and was named Teacher of the Year in 2017. She wrote the self-study that allowed Granite Hills Hill School to become an International Baccalaureate school, the only such school in East County. She is committed to ensuring an equitable teaching and learning environment for all faculty, staff, and students; promoting diversity, equity, cultural awareness, and inclusion at the colleges; and ensuring that community college education remains affordable and accessible for all students.  


Benjamin Blevins-GCCCD Portrait

Benjamin Blevins, Grossmont College Student Trustee

Benjamin Blevins, a political science major, was elected student trustee in 2020. The San Diego native and Point Loma High School graduate began attending Grossmont College in fall 2019 and promptly joined student government as the Director of Student Legislation. He went to sit on the board of directors for the Student Senate for California Community Colleges and currently sits on the Student Trustee Advisory Committee for the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). Benjamin also is an intern for  Nathan Fletcher, Chair of the San Diego County Board of Supervisors. His top issues are diversity, equity, economic injustice, and environmental justice. From Grossmont College, he aspires to transfer to Columbia University.


Kristie Macogay-GCCCD Portrait

Kristie Macogay, Cuyamaca College Student Trustee 

Kristie Eleison Macogay is a Music Education major at Cuyamaca College. She previously served as Associated Student Government President and was the student representative on numerous campus committees, including the Cuyamaca College Council, Facilities Committee, Student Services Leadership Advisory Team, and Student Conduct & Grievance Committee. Kristie participates in the Student Senate of California Community Colleges as a delegate in Region X and represents Cuyamaca College. Kristie’s goals include improving communication and engagement between students, staff, and faculty. She plans to transfer to San Diego State University, with the career goal of becoming a music teacher.


  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District